Chad Taylor

Published fiction

An index of published works by Chad Taylor including digital re-issues of printed works, short fiction that has appeared in anthologies, and original film screenplays.


The Church of John Coltrane

(2009) Editions Christian Bourgois (France) Translation by Isabelle Chapman.

Departure Lounge

(2006) Jonathan Cape; Random House UK; Editions Christian Bourgois as Salle D'Embarquement, translation by Isabelle Chapman; Europa Editions; Edizione EO as Sala Partenze, translation by Claudia Valeria Letizia.


(2003) Jonathan Cape; Vintage UK / Random House; Editions Christian Bourgois (France) Translation by Anouk Neuhoff; Editions 10:18


(2000) Canongate Books; Walker and Company; DTV, translation by Chris Hirte; Neri Pozza, translation by Massimo Ortelio and Annamaria Raffo; Editions Christian Bourgois, translation by Anouk Neuhoff.


(1994) David Ling Publishing; Miramax (feature film version).

Pack of Lies

(1993) Hazard Press; MANA Verlag as Lügenspiele, translation by Dietmar Hefendehl.

Short stories


'Aurélie' (digital edition).


'Close to You' original short story dramatised for Radio New Zealand. Nominated for Best Drama in the ABU Prizes 2016.


'The Sounds' Landfall 227 (OUP).


'City Lights' and 'City Lights Part 2: Planet of Fear' (2012) Written by Chad Taylor and drawn by Jonathan King.


'DIN'. Décapage Volume 40, translated by Isabelle Chapman.

'Huxley' The Mammoth Book of International Crime, Ed. Maxim Jakubowski (Constable / Robinson UK, Running Press USA).

'Oilskin' Essential New Zealand Short Stories Ed. Owen Marshall (Random House NZ).


'Supercollider' The Mammoth Book of Best New Erotica Ed. Maxim Jakubowski (Constable/ Robinson UK, Running Press USA).


'Zip' The Flash Ed. Peter Wild. (Social Disease).

'DIN' Landfall 211 Ed. Tze Ming Mok (OUP).

'Travelogue' Sunday magazine, January 15. Ed. Emily Simpson.


'DIN' Dimsum Vol. 10. Ed. Nury Vittachi. Chameleon Press, Hong Kong).

'Calling Doctor Dollywell' The Flamingo Anthology of New Zealand Short Stories Ed. Michael Morrissey (Harper Collins).


'Osome' Listener.


'Unpublished Japan' An Affair of the Heart: A Celebration of Frank Sargeson's Centenary Ed. Graeme Lay, Stephen Stratford (Cape Catley Ltd).


'Oilskin' (1994) Essential New Zealand Short Stories Ed. Owen Marshall (Godwit Press).

'Close to you' Listener.

'Hard Bop' Boys' Own Stories Ed. Graeme Lay (Tandem Press).


'Supercollider' String of Pearls Ed. Tony Ayres (Allen & Unwin).


The Man Who Wasn't Feeling Himself David Ling. Collection features 'Running Hot & Cold', 'Calling Doctor Dollywell', 'The Man Who Wasn't Feeling Himself', 'Fire in the Hole', 'Archie and Veronica', 'No Sun No Rain', 'Somewhere in the 21st Century', 'Oilskin', 'John', 'Me & Misspelt', 'From Soup to Nuts', 'Another White Gown'. 'Me & Misspelt' was dramatised for National Radio. Stories from the collection have appeared in the anthologies Rutherford's Dreams (IPL, 1995); Men/Love/Sex (Vintage, 1995); The Next Wave (Otago University, 1998); The Flamingo Anthology of New Zealand Short Stories (Flamingo, 2004); Essential New Zealand Short Stories (Random House, 2009); Metro.

'No Sun No Rain' Sport 13 (VUP)

'Rusty Blades' Sport 5 (VUP)

'The Man at the Door', 'Two Friends', 'Geisha', 'Girl from Mars' Other Voices (Brick Row / Hallard Press).


REALITi (2007 / produced 2012) directed by Jonathan King. Nominated for five categories in the 2014 Rialto Channel New Zealand Film Awards, including Best Screenplay.

Breakfast (2008) directed by Clinton Phillips.

The Alibi Girl (2006) directed by Clinton Phillips.

Funny Little Guy (1994) directed by Chris Graves.